Hawthorn School for Girls

Home >> For Educators >> Calendar

Career and PD Calendar

Calendar Navigation
<  Year of 2018  >
  • Monday, Jan 8
    • Classes Resume
    Thursday, Jan 18
    • Student Visual Arts Festival Trafalgar Castle School
    Friday, Jan 19
    • Cohort21 - #3 F2F WE Global Learning Center
    Monday, Jan 22
    • Music Teachers' PD Sterling Hall School
    Monday, Jan 29
    • CIS Ontario Connects 8:30 AM to 3:30 PMBMO Centre for Learning

      CIS Ontario Connects

      BMO Centre for Learning

      Monday, January 29, 2018

      8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.


      An UNConference for CIS Ontario Educators!

      Building on the success of COHORT 21, CIS Ontario Connects will be a powerful day of learning and sharing as we leverage the expertise of CIS Ontario educators in four compelling areas of pedagogical inquiry that are shaping our schools today and in the future:

      1. STEAM/Makerspace
      2. Sharing Student Learning: Digital Portfolios
      3. Classroom Spaces of the Future
      4. Inquiry Models

      Facilitators will engage participants through provocations designed to generate and incubate ideas and best practices.This conference will be personalized by design, collaborative in nature, and interactive. This is an ideal opportunity to send a small team of teachers, working with them in advance on how to best use the conference, what questions to ask, and what success would look like upon return.


      SAVE THE DATE!

    Tuesday, Jan 30
    • CIS Ontario Board Meeting
  • Tuesday, Feb 6
    • Heads' Law Symposium Borden Ladner Gervais
    Friday, Feb 9
    Monday, Feb 12
    • CISMF Rehearsals
    Friday, Feb 16
    • Mid-Term Break
    Monday, Feb 19
    • Mid-Term Break
    Thursday, Feb 22
    • CIS Ontario Dance Festival 2028

      CIS Ontario DanceFest


      Grades 6-12

      Thursday, February 22, 2018

      9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

      York University


      The 9th annual CIS Ontario DanceFest will be held on Thursday, February 22, 2018 at York University in the dance studios and the McLean Performance Studio. This annual student event is designed for students, in Grades 6-12 at CIS Ontario member schools, who are keen to experience dance in a fun and non-competitive environment. No dance experience is necessary. All dance styles are welcome (Hip Hop, Salsa, Bollywood, Jazz, etc.). The day will involve a combination of student dance workshops in a variety of styles and opportunities to perform.


      Look for more details and the official registration to open in January. Thanks to the organizing committee for planning this exciting student experience.


      If you have any questions, please contact:


      Sarah Craig

      Executive Director

      CIS Ontario

      scraig@cisontario.ca

      647-988-4761

    Saturday, Feb 24
    • CIS Ontario Thrive Leaders Symposium 9:00 AM to 2:30 PMTMS Upper School
      CIS Ontario Thrive Leaders Symposium
      500 Elgin MIlls Road East
      Richmond Hill, Ontario L4C 5G1
      Saturday, February 24, 2018
      9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
      Grade 7-12 Student Leaders
      Contact: Ashley Bailey

      The Thrive Leaders Symposium is an inter-school student leadership collaboration event hosted by CIS Ontario and TMS School. Students will participate in seminar discussions on topics relevant to their leadership in school, and network with others in a similar role to foster collaboration in the future. Students will also be taught hard skills for problem-solving in their own unique leadership environments. To learn more, visit the Thrive Leaders Symposium website.

      Participants: Grade 7-12 Student Leaders
      Cost: $30 per student, Advisors free
      * Limit of 10 students & 2 Advisors per school
    Tuesday, Feb 27
    • Women's Network Event 5:00 PM to 7:30 PMUpper Canada College

      CIS Ontario is proud to share a NEW Professional Network opportunity for member school employees. Please click here to read Allison Macrae's Cohort 21 blog to learn how she teamed up with colleagues, Deirdre Timusk and Tina Jagdeo, to design an evening focussed on exploring networking and mentorship strategies for women.


      Tuesday, February 27, 2018

      5:00 - 7:30 p.m.

      Upper Canada College

      200 Lonsdale Road, Toronto

      Student Centre, Upper School

      campus map

      UCC is situated on the #5 and #142 TTC bus lines, with stops at the south and east campus gates. The closest subway stop is Davisville Station.

      View a Google Map and get directions.


      Contact: Allison Macrae


      We invite you to join our panelists to

  • Thursday, Mar 1
    Monday, Mar 12
    • March Break Begins
    Friday, Mar 23
    • March Break Ends
    • Ontario Modern Language Teachers' Association Spring Conference

      For more information, please click here.

    Friday, Mar 30
    • Easter Break
  • Monday, Apr 2
    • Easter Break
    Tuesday, Apr 3
    • CISAA AGM and Scheduling Rocky Crest
    Wednesday, Apr 4
    • CISAA AGM and Scheduling Rocky Crest
    • CISAA Coaches' Meeting De La Salle College
    • CISAA Executive Meeting TBA
    Friday, Apr 6
    • CISMF Rehearsals TBA
    Saturday, Apr 7
    • CISMF Rehearsals TBA
    Sunday, Apr 8
    • CISMF Concert Roy Thomson Hall
    Monday, Apr 9
    • Heads' Network Meeting 8:30 AMTBD
    Tuesday, Apr 10
    • CISAA Athletic Director Meeting Trinity College School
    Wednesday, Apr 11
    • CISAA Athletic Director Meeting Trinity College School
    Thursday, Apr 19
    • Wildfire Education Workshop Royal St. George's College

      Hosted by: Royal St. George's College

      Facilitated by: Wildfire Education

      WORKSHOP FEE

      $1,100 USD per person

      Fee includes immersive hands-on workshop, materials and food
      (continental breakfast each day, lunch on Day 1 and 2, snacks and event).


      Please click here for more information.


    Friday, Apr 20
    • Cohort21 - #4 F2F TBD
    • Wildfire Education Workshop Royal St. George's College

      Hosted by: Royal St. George's College

      Facilitated by: Wildfire Education

      WORKSHOP FEE

      $1,100 USD per person

      Fee includes immersive hands-on workshop, materials and food
      (continental breakfast each day, lunch on Day 1 and 2, snacks and event).


      Please click here for more information.


    Saturday, Apr 21
    • CITE English Conference Villanova College
    • Wildfire Education Workshop Royal St. George's College

      Hosted by: Royal St. George's College

      Facilitated by: Wildfire Education

      WORKSHOP FEE

      $1,100 USD per person

      Fee includes immersive hands-on workshop, materials and food
      (continental breakfast each day, lunch on Day 1 and 2, snacks and event).


      Please click here for more information.


    Tuesday, Apr 24
    • CIS Ontario Board Meeting TBD
    • Independent School Jack.Org Summit 12:30 PM to 4:00 PMHavergal College

      Please click here for more information.

    • 'Anxious Kids, Anxious Parents: How to Stop the Worry Cycle" with Lynn Lyons 7:00 PMThe Mabin School

      Please click here for more information.

  • Wednesday, May 2
    • CISAA AGM and Scheduling Signup for an alert reminder. Rocky Crest
    Monday, May 21
    • Victoria Day HolidaySignup for an alert reminder.
    Thursday, May 31
    • Campus Safety and Security WorkshopSignup for an alert reminder. 10:00 AM to 2:00 PMRidley College
  • Monday, Jun 4
    • CISAA Constitution MeetingSignup for an alert reminder. Crescent School
    Friday, Jun 15
    • Students Dismissed Signup for an alert reminder.
    Tuesday, Jun 26
    • CIS Ontario Board MeetingSignup for an alert reminder. TBD
  • Monday, Aug 20
    Tuesday, Aug 21
    Wednesday, Aug 22
Calendar Navigation
 <  Year of 2018  >



powered by finalsite